Andrew Willis

Favourite Thing: During the third year of my degree I was lucky enough to research within the Biomedical Engineering field. I looked into the effect of fluid flow on stem cell growth. My task was to look at flow conditions and biomaterial scaffold geometry to obtain the best fluid around the stem cells for optimal growth.



University of Bath (2009-2015), Farnborough Sixth Form College (2007-2009), Yateley School (2000-2007)


Masters in Chemical Engineering (MEng), 4 A-Levels (Maths, Chemistry, Biology, Computing)

Work History:

I have worked occasionally as a swimming coach

Current Job:

Full-Time athlete


British Swimming

About Me

Chemical Engineering graduate currently being a full time athlete!

I’m originally from a small town called Yateley where my parents still live. My sport is swimming and I’ve been doing it for as long as I can remember. I’ve always loved my sport, yes the training is hard and maybe not the most enjoyable part. But what I train for are those once in a life time opportunities, and the most amazing adrenaline rushes standing on the blocks before I race. After I completed my A-Levels I moved away from home to Bath University. Being based in Bath is amazing as it’s such a beautiful place. I started my Chemical Engineering degreed and was accepted into the National Centre for swimming based at the university. For many years I combined my swimming and studies but now I am a full-time athlete based at the university. I’ve been ever so lucky to travel the world and meet some amazing people with my sport.

I currently live with some of my team mates and I collect vinyl which I like to listen to with them to relax! If I go into town I will always get a coffee as I like trying different bean varieties and also do some amateur photography.

My go to Netflix series at the moment is Luke Cage. My favourite series I’ve watched is Game of Thrones, however I read the books before the series came out and they were great reads!

I’m currently reading a man booker prize shortlist book called Hot Milk. Which is as intriguing as it sounds.

My Work

Full Time Professional Athlete

I have been lucky enough to train at a world class swimming centre in Bath for 7 years now. I currently train alongside 3 other Olympians. During my time in Bath I have travelled all over the world competing and it definitely makes the hard work and training worth it! My favourite places I have been are Tokyo, Japan and Flagstaff, Arizona.

My career highlights so far have been competing in three World Championships, two Olympic Games (London 2012 and Rio 2016) and winning my first International medal at the Commonwealth Games in 2014.

My Typical Day

A lot of training!

Most days I swim twice (morning and afternoon) and also have some other form of land work. This could be a weights session in the gym, pilates based work or just stretching. I can access other services such as physiotherapy or massage which compliments my training. In between sessions I tend to relax up for the afternoon session. This involves reading or listening to music, maybe even a quick nap!

What I'd do with the money

Give back to sport – swimming workshop

The ability to swim is an important and if not an essential life skill every child should have the opportunity to learn. Therefore, if I won the money I would use the skills I have been taught and use in my training each day to teach children in a fun yet education way. I would love to inspire younger people to potentially take up swimming competitively and share my experiences with the sport from since I started out as a youngster to when I qualified for my first Olympic games. This would range from stoke basics and some fun and games!

My Interview

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

Determined, Hard working, Friendly

Who is your favourite singer or band?


What's your favourite food?


What is the most fun thing you've done?

Competed at a home Olympic Games

What did you want to be after you left school?

I wanted to be an Olympian

Were you ever in trouble at school?

Maybe a couple of occasions for late homework…

What was your favourite subject at school?


What's the best thing you've done in your job?

Travel all over the world

What or who inspired you to do what you do?

My family inspire me. I owe where I got to from their sacrifices when I was younger

If you weren't doing this job, what would you be?

If you had 3 wishes for yourself what would they be? - be honest!

Tell us a joke.

Other stuff

Work photos: